Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#254061 - 15 March 19 3:26 pm - America/Chicago 30 day extensions
Mr_keith Offline

Loc: Ontario Canada / cayo Belize
Greetings everyone, I'm planning to immigrate to Belize and eventually become a citizen. I've been traveling here as a tourist for nine years now. I've bought land, built a house an learned lots of new things...thanks!
So here's my question that I couldn't find an answer to in the forums. This year I phoned to Belmopan to make an appointment to have a thirty day passport stamp extension. The person told me I need a visa. I'll only be here for three months this year and I have a return ticket to Canada.
Has anything changed as far as this thirty day stamp works?
Also, I heard I can have my passport stamped at the Bengue border since I live in Cayo. Does anyone know if that is true?
Thanks in advance
Keith.

#254062 - 15 March 19 7:01 pm - America/Chicago Re: 30 day extensions [Re: Mr_keith]
britinbelize Online   content

Loc: Bay area CA + Belmopan
The initial 30 day visa is stamped into your passport when you arrive so I do not know what the person was asking for. With or without an appointment the immigration should do the extention if you arrive at the immigtration building in Belmopan before the 30th day of first entry. Never known how true it is that they will extend you at the border, as they do not have the ability to take the fee and issue a reciept

#254063 - 16 March 19 7:16 am - America/Chicago Re: 30 day extensions [Re: Mr_keith]
MisterB Offline

Loc: Belize
When I moved to Belize, I didn't need to make an appointment for a new 30-day stamp.

On the last working day before the current stamp expired, I'd go to the nearest Immigration office and ask for a new stamp. I just had to enter some basic personal details in a book and pay the fee. The whole process took 10 to 30 minutes depending on how many people were ahead of me.