Caye Caulker
Northern Belize
Belize District
Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#253785 - 31 October 18 10:15 am - America/Chicago New member looking to retire in Belize
gmaffPappy Online   content

My new wife and are are starting to plan our retirement, and are seriously considering Belize. I thought this would be a great place for research and learning about the country.
We are both in our mid 40's and want to retire in about 10 years, but are looking to find some land so we can start building our home of the future.
My wife is an attorney from China. We're working on getting her visa status changed to permanent U.S. resident and eventually citizen. So we have questions about even visiting Belize until that changes. Her ideal place to retire is somewhere peaceful she can sit, read, grow vegetables and relax with a slow life.
I'm a computer consultant by trade, so computers and connectivity will be a really big part of what I'm looking for. But I'm also into woodworking, mostly cabinetry and colonial furniture. I have a whole wood-shop I plan on bringing with me, so 220v power is very important. My other loves are Fishing and SCUBA diving. I'm a Dive Master. So, with the abundance of great wood and the clear waters, Belize sounds like a paradise.

#253786 - 31 October 18 4:45 pm - America/Chicago Re: New member looking to retire in Belize [Re: gmaffPappy]
D InTheShade Offline

Loc: Calgary, Mile 5 Southern Hwy
We have nominal 240v in our subdivision and hot 123v out of the receptacles. Bring your power tools.

#253787 - 31 October 18 4:56 pm - America/Chicago Re: New member looking to retire in Belize [Re: gmaffPappy]
britinbelize Online   content

Loc: Bay area CA + Belmopan
One slight problem the great "Wood" is inland and the great scuba is on the Cayes or the southern coastal areas.