Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#251446 - 23 September 16 11:05 am - America/Chicago No reservations
noisyboyes Offline

Loc: Squamish, BC, Canada
Wondering how feasible it would be to travel the mainland without pre booking accommodation? Considering a short 2 week trip, renting a vehicle and then playing it by ear as to where and for how long at each spot. Probably going in February, prime time, like nice accommodations. Other kicker is usually have a large pack with us, Siblings and significants. Would we have big trouble finding a place one afternoon just showing up say in Corozal or Hopkins.

#251449 - 23 September 16 1:02 pm - America/Chicago Re: No reservations [Re: noisyboyes]
hopefulist Offline

Loc: The Dalles, OR USA
I have no experience with Corozal but our favorite place in Hopkins is small and popular and would be highly unlikely to have enough space last minute; best reviewed and best value places might be booked, in other words.

If you don't mind shopping around once you hit town and know ahead that you might not get your 1st choice place and might have to book into separate places, then go for it. It would give you more flexibility of itinerary and some places might offer better walk in rates than prebook rates.

(I nearly always book ahead because I research well and am confident with my choices. We have never been sorry, not once in dozens of trips to Latin America.)

#251450 - 23 September 16 1:46 pm - America/Chicago Re: No reservations [Re: hopefulist]
noisyboyes Offline

Thanks, when I get things a little more concrete, especially numbers in our group, I may look at advance booking at least part of the trip. So what's your favorite place in Hopkins?

#251451 - 23 September 16 10:06 pm - America/Chicago Re: No reservations [Re: noisyboyes]
hopefulist Offline

Loc: The Dalles, OR USA

#251453 - 24 September 16 7:18 am - America/Chicago Re: No reservations [Re: noisyboyes]
MisterB Offline

Loc: Belize