Caye Caulker
Northern Belize
Belize District
Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#252031 - 28 February 17 7:08 am - America/Chicago HVAC service tech/sales employment
phillipt85 Offline

Ok...this is my first forum posting ever...please forgive any mistakes.
I am a HVAC service tech with 10+ years experience living in Missouri currently holding a sales position...I'm seriously considering moving to Belize...but obviously need a job...can anyone help me with info ?

#252033 - 28 February 17 12:37 pm - America/Chicago Re: HVAC service tech/sales employment [Re: phillipt85]
britinbelize Offline

Loc: Bay area CA + Belmopan
If moving and living in Belize is totally dependent on paid employment when you arrive it is going to be really difficult.
Employment in Belize for expats is rare to find, unless you have skills needed but unavailable in Belize. You need a work permit not always granted and can take months to years to be approved. Jobs are always offered to local persons before expats are considered. Salary levels in Belize are really low, they do have minimum wage levels which depending on type of work start at $3 bze per hour for an adult. Under 21 is $2 an hour. $2 bze is $! us.
If you have some cash behind you you could start your own business and Hvac might not be a bad business to start.
Without the cash behind you Belize is not as inexpensive as you probably imagine. I am not just trying to pour cold water on your dream but being a realist.

#252034 - 28 February 17 1:12 pm - America/Chicago Re: HVAC service tech/sales employment [Re: phillipt85]
Dave Bunk Offline

Loc: Mine Hill NJ