Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#210273 - 01 February 12 8:00 pm - America/Chicago Satellite Internet in Belize
Billbert Offline

Loc: Western Lagoon,BZ
Is anyone on the forums using satellite internet and how is it working? It looks like Hughesnet is about the only choice. Is there any other option? Thanks for any feedback.

#210284 - 02 February 12 8:32 am - America/Chicago Re: Satellite Internet in Belize [Re: Billbert]
chris45 Offline

Loc: Belmopn
Yes there are quite a few forum members using satellite systems. If you search you will find tons of inf.

#210286 - 02 February 12 8:38 am - America/Chicago Re: Satellite Internet in Belize [Re: Billbert]
corozal dave Offline

Loc: Toronto/Corozal
Yes, I've been using Satellite Internet for 2 years. It uses Hughesnet equipment, but it is from Galaxy Broadband in Canada. I've found it works very well.
I have a 400 meg per day download limit, however it becomes unlimited from 1am est to 6 am est. Speed has not been an issue, Skype works just fine. So I use a download manager (IDM) and set it to download large video files at night so I have not had any issues....unless friends with teenage kids come over and 5 or 6 hours of youtube and I've hit my max. They then punish you for 24 hours of very slow service...but they also give you a few free tokens and will sell more to bring your service back to normal. It is not cheap, I spend approx. $100.00 CDN/mth

#210289 - 02 February 12 9:05 am - America/Chicago Re: Satellite Internet in Belize [Re: Billbert]
sunopolicity Offline

Loc: Cayo
ditto with what Dave said.
I'm reasonably satisfied with my hughesnet arrangement.
I've done screensharing with voice quite often, use Skype and watch movies.
We've become a little spoiled with hulu and satisfy our limited tv watching while managing the download limit. Worth noting you can buy additional download tokens at 400+mb a crack for $7.50 US.