Northern Belize
Belize District
Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 ... 15 16 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#192113 - 27 January 11 11:31 am - America/Chicago What would be a great business in Belize that is needed????
Country Offline

Loc: Michigan
Hello all again.... I know a few gave me your opinion in my welcome string, But I thought I would put it in the correct place.

What would be some great businesses in Belize that they really need????

I was told that property management would be a good one.

I am a jack of all trades and have most ofmy own equipment --everything from carpentry, welding, Plubming, electrical, to running big equipment and specializing in moving big objects. I am also a chef by hobbie and have done private dinners for big parties and such....

So I am just looking for your perception on what is needed, so that when I visit I can look at that market while I am visiting.

Thanks again....

#192115 - 27 January 11 11:49 am - America/Chicago Re: What would be a great business in Belize that is needed???? [Re: Country]
LanSluder Offline

Loc: USA/Belize
I'd think about it this way:

What businesses would a city of 30,000 or 35,000 people in the U.S. or Canada need? That's in effect the size of the entire Belize economy in terms of buying power.

Keep in mind that per capita GDP (in effect, spending power) in Belize is about one-tenth of that in the U.S. However, the population is spread out over an area the size of Massachusetts, not in a small urbanized area.

US$125 a week is a "decent" salary in Belize, often for a six-day week. This means that for most people there is little disposable income after the basics of food and shelter are taken care of.