Hol Chan
Laughingbird Caye

MORE SPONSORS

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#160831 - 28 July 09 11:42 pm - America/Chicago Goats & Farm Land In Belize
Blcorrell Offline

I have a few questions about the goat industry in belize. I am a goat farmer in the US and I have had an interest in Belize for a while now. I would like to buy some land, and a house and spend a good bit of time in Belize. I have recently thought about starting a Goat farm in belize.

1.) What is the current goat industry like in Belize, is there even an industry for goats? or Would I be better exporting them back to the US?

2.) How many goats are in Belize?

3.) Would I be able to buy goats in belize? or Would I have to import them?

4.) If I could buy goats in belize how many do you think would be readily available?

5.) What kind of price do Goats in Belize bring?

#160838 - 29 July 09 6:42 am - America/Chicago Re: Goats & Farm Land In Belize [Re: Blcorrell]
catdance62 Offline

Loc: Texarkana USA
The only people I know who have goats that are on this board are kayleon and woodsman. They have what I call "Spanish" goats. Perhaps they will weigh in on that.
Do you have Boer goats, or what kind?
We presently have property just a few yards from the beach, but at a later date, we are interested in buying some farmland in another district and really retiring, possibly bringing some of our goats with us. We raise ADGA Nubians.
It is my understanding you can bring livestock in with approval from BAHA.
I have mostly seen sheep in Belize. In fact, there is a Dorper sheep project at Central Farm.

#160840 - 29 July 09 7:01 am - America/Chicago Re: Goats & Farm Land In Belize [Re: catdance62]
Rigrat Offline

Loc: Belmopan
There is a goat farm at Blue Creek. They were selling doelings and bucklings at Spanish lookout a week ago or so. I unfortunately cannot remember the price, nor do I know the breed.